To use dip tank powder or not to use dip tank powder?

Chris T

New Cleantalker
Hi being a new oven cleaning business and wanting to be as eco friendly as possible I am torn between using dip tank powder or not.

The chemical that I am concerned with is Sodium Carbonate.

I did a Rangemaster clean today and I dipped the white speckled panels as usual and I think they did not come out as clean as when I did a job a few weeks back where the tank had powder in it.

Has anyone had any similar thoughts or experiences?

Many thanks.

Derek Dale

Cleantalk Member
I don't know of anyone not using some chemical in a dip tank although I wait to be corrected. I use caustic its a relatively small amount its bio degradable so in my opinion eco friendly enough. Customers want clean ovens. I have had a few ask about what I use in the house if they have breathing problems but never been asked about what is in the tank as its outside.

Reactions: 1 user

Chris T

New Cleantalker
Just to clarify a little, I use bio oven cleaner in the tank anyway but my understanding is that sodium carbonate though not as caustic as hydroxide does have caustic properties. I dont know if I need the carbonate to get a better result, today's clean without was fine bar the panels which though clean were not as bright. Not using carbonate would allow me to leave iron pan stands in the tank for longer in the hope of getting them cleaner?

Derek Dale

Cleantalk Member